历史

肯天拥有50年行业经验及多条产品线

1960年:肯天成立

化学工程师Peer Lorentzen在担任化学师的妻子Birgit的协助下在家中厨房做实验研发针对聚氨酯泡沫的脱模剂。寄出大量新产品样品后,Peer受到鼓励,将生产设备从家中搬到密歇根州Howell一间租赁的车库中,在那里成立了肯天。

Peer Lorentzen

1960年:进入压铸领域,拓宽发展重心

Peer成功研发将聚氨酯泡沫从汽车坐垫生产模具中脱离的新方法。此后,他开始重点解决当时使用石墨和溶剂型压铸脱模剂过程中存在的问题。肯天进入压铸行业领域,先后开发一种不含石墨的压铸脱模剂和一种压铸脱模剂水性技术,这在当时属创新之举。

1962年:确定欧洲首家经销商

Peer Lorentzen于1954年从丹麦移民至美国,他具有很强的全球市场观念。肯天确定首家国际经销商,销售范围覆盖德国、瑞士及奥地利。

1963年:完善架构,不断提高行业专业知识水平

肯天成立压铸部门,向该市场业务单元分配专用资源。该模式成为肯天服务之其他所有工业部门的典范。肯天为每个业务市场配备专门的产品研发和技术支持实验室以及专家级员工,因此熟悉客户的问题和工艺流程。得益于此,肯天成为今天的业界领袖。

Die Cast Division

1963年:建成首家专业生产工厂

公司不断发展,要求增加产能。肯天在密歇根州Howell建造了首家生产工厂。随着时间的推移,工厂规模扩大至最初的10倍多。时至今日,该工厂仍在肯天全球所有工厂中占据重要位置,致力于运用各类最新技术。

Change of address cardConstruction site

1965年:设立美国以外的首个销售办事处

肯天了解到直销人员为客户创造的利益,因此在丹麦设立了办事处,并且组建了欧洲直销团队。

Newspaper clipping: Howell Firm Opens Branch In Denmark

1969年:通过建立重要关系进入亚洲市场

肯天认识到汽车制造业不断上升的重要地位,因此与日本压铸行业建立了重要关系,向该行业客户销售产品并提供技术支持。

1969年:肯天的技术领先地位获得认可

得益于为压铸行业提供的强大技术解决方案和创新产品,肯天获得压铸研究基金会(隶属美国压铸学会)的认可,再次展示了公司在特种化学品市场的领导地位。

Endorsement of the Die Casting Research Foundation

1971年:肯天安全记录获得认可

由于长期关注安全问题,肯天的制造工艺和产品荣获国家安全委员会优秀奖。此后,肯天多次获得安全类奖项。

1974年:建成第二家生产工厂

肯天在欧洲的业务不断发展,需要在当地建立生产和研发基地以及配套实验室,以便更好地响应客户日益增长的需求。在此背景下,公司在丹麦建造了一家新工厂和实验室。

Second Manufacturing Facility

1978年:开发用于橡胶模塑半永久性脱模剂生产线

肯天进入橡胶行业,开发一系列新型半永久性脱模剂,提高生产效率,降低橡胶产品模具加工成本。

Mono Coat Label

1985年:肯天收购GreenChem产品

肯天收购并成功整合这一聚氨酯行业专业公司开发的产品和技术,由此丰富了专业知识,扩大了客户基础,从而能够更好地服务市场。

1986年:成立墨西哥合资公司

分布式生产日益成为北美及世界其他地区汽车行业的发展趋势。有鉴于此,肯天着手扩大公司规模。肯天在墨西哥成立了一家合资公司,该公司后成为肯天北美地区的组成部分。

1986年:设立南美洲办事处

肯天认识到南美汽车制造市场不断上升的重要地位,因此在南半球最大的经济体——巴西建立了办事处和工厂。随后,巴西成为肯天南半球地区总部。

1987年:成立韩国合资公司

亚洲特别是韩国汽车市场不断发展。在此背景下,肯天加快了扩张速度。肯天在韩国成立一家合资公司,该公司后成为肯天亚太地区的组成部分。

1987年:显著增加生产和研发资源

公司业务不断增长,需要更多产能以及针对不同行业的先进研发设施。肯天在密歇根州Howell建立了新的办公室、实验室和生产设备,通过整合北美地区总部成立了公司新的全球总部。

1988年:嘉实多(Burmah Castrol)收购肯天

Peer Lorentzen在退休前为肯天找到了买家——嘉实多。该公司将为肯天的持续发展提供丰富的资源和有力支持,同时秉承和完善Peer建立的核心价值观。嘉实多收购肯天,将其列为专门服务特种化学品和脱模剂市场的独立业务单元。

1990年:肯天获得ISO9001认证

肯天在嘉实多集团率先获得ISO9001认证,也是首家获得该认证的脱模剂公司,充分展示了公司对质量的长期承诺。丹麦工厂“肯天A/S”率先获得ISO认证。随后,肯天设在全球各地的工厂均获得此项认证。

1990年:进军轮胎业

肯天通过研发一系列新型轮胎喷涂剂开始为轮胎工业提供增值产品和服务。肯天利用长期积累的专业技术知识完善该产品线,迅速成为轮胎制造业的全球领先企业。

1991年:成立新加坡代表处

亚太地区经济持续发展,激励肯天在这一战略地区扩大业务。新加坡代表处后成为肯天亚太地区总部,为在该地区建立办事处、生产工厂、销售关系以及仓储单位提供支持。

1991年:收购Park化工公司部分脱模剂产品线

此次收购补充了已有技术和产品线,增加了肯天面向聚氨酯行业的产品类别。

1991年:肯天收购PERMA-MOLD®生产线

肯天收购Brulin公司的聚氨酯模塑一系列产品,由此扩大了公司的技术基础和产品类别,重点研发制冷行业使用的聚氨酯硬泡脱模剂。

1997年:收购道康宁(Dow Corning)公司轮胎行业脱模剂部分业务

肯天收购道康宁在美国和欧洲的轮胎行业脱模剂业务,并与道康宁签署协议,成为该公司针对部分知名轮胎行业产品的独家经销商,从而能够更好地满足客户需求,并且增强了为轮胎和汽车工业研发创新产品的实力。

1997年:肯天收购Pura®聚氨酯产品线

肯天收购Air Products公司的知名品牌Pura®,该品牌旗下产品在欧洲享有较高知名度。肯天的战略规划在欧洲新建了一家生产工厂,丰富了聚氨酯行业的技术和产品组合,巩固了公司在特种化学品市场的全球领先地位。

1998年:肯天收购Chemlease®品牌

肯天收购知名而好评如潮的Chemlease®品牌完善的生产线和全球销售网络,Chemlease®品牌为复合材料行业提供创新型脱模剂。此次收购巩固了肯天在复合材料行业的实力和领先地位。

2001年:Cinven收购肯天

2000年,英国石油阿莫科(BP Amoco)公司相继收购嘉实多和肯天。2001年,该公司将肯天出售给私有集团Cinven。英国石油阿莫科希望摆脱一切与其石油天然气核心市场无关的业务。得益于领先的技术、雄厚的资金实力以及强大的市场地位,肯天成为Cinven的首选收购对象。

2001年:与Chemlease日本公司建立合资关系

成功收购Chemlease后,肯天与该公司在日本经验丰富的经销伙伴建立了正式关系。随后,Chemlease日本公司与肯天之间的合作关系不断发展,合作范围扩大至日本关键市场的轮胎、复合材料及橡胶业务。

2001年:在印度成立新机构

肯天认识到印度巨大的发展潜力,在该国成立了一个新机构,集中资源支持这一不断发展的市场。该机构后成为肯天印度地区总部。

2004年:科德宝(Freudenberg & Co KG)收购肯天

总部位于德国魏因海姆的科德宝公司收购肯天,并成立了科德宝特种化工公司(FCS)。科德宝特种化工公司旗下企业包括工业用特种润滑剂领域全球领先企业克鲁勃润滑剂公司以及生产和开发制造领域所需润滑剂及其他生产操作所需的高性能产品的OKS公司。这三家公司均拥有丰富的行业知识,共同致力于在各类制造领域开展产品开发和技术创新。

Kluber LubricationOKSChem-Trend

2005年:进入热塑性塑料行业,增强聚氨酯和压铸行业的专业能力

肯天兼并克鲁勃化学德国(KCD)公司,成为热塑性塑料行业具有创新实力的市场领袖,同时扩大了聚氨酯产品范围。此外,克鲁勃润滑剂公司的压铸业务转入肯天,极大地增强了肯天在欧洲压铸行业的影响力,并且扩大了业界领先产品组合。通过此次兼并,一批经验丰富的员工加入肯天。与此同时,肯天拥有了德国第二个生产、实验及管理基地。该基地位于德国迈萨赫(Maisach),后被定为肯天欧洲地区总部。

2006年:进入人造板行业

肯天注意到人造板行业与肯天曾成功服务过的其他行业具有许多相似之处,因此决定进入该行业。在人造板行业取得成功的首项关键措施是通过开发新产品帮助该行业解决使用PMDI树脂粘合剂过程中出现的问题。肯天将继续研发应用于人造板行业的新产品,帮助该行业停止使用传统的甲醛粘合剂。

2008年:中国主要生产工厂开业

位于中国上海市青浦区的全新生产工厂和行政办公室开业,成为肯天不断扩大全球布局的重要里程碑。此外,肯天能够利用中国巨大的新市场巩固公司在亚太地区的供应链。

2010年:肯天庆祝公司成立50周年

2010年,肯天全球各分支机构共同庆祝公司成立50周年。庆祝活动回顾了肯天奠基人Peer Lorentzen以及多年来为公司发展做出贡献的员工取得的辉煌成就。尤为值得一提的是,在密歇根州Howell举办的庆祝活动中,Birgit Lorentzen与大家分享了公司成立初期她和Peer在自家厨房制作样品的故事。

2013年: 肯天公司收购 Zyvax®.

收购Zyvax®广泛的产品线组合、技术和全球分销网络,Zyvax作为一家复合材料行业备受推崇和高度重视的创新型脱模体系供应商,助力肯天公司在先进复合材料和传统玻璃钢复合材料行业进行独特定位。

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

 

了解肯天如何帮助客户生产线顺畅运行

 
品牌历史

肯天拥有丰富的行业经验,其产品旨在帮助提高制造商在各种工业应用领域的工作效率。请深入了解肯天长期以来打造的多个品牌。

Peer Lorentzen

肯天的历史独具特色,请了解我们如何从一个人的小型作坊发展成为行业领军企业。

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

 

Discover how we make sure your line keeps running smoothly

 

Chem-Trend has a long history of products designed to help improve the efficiency of producers in a wide range of industrial applications. Learn more about the brands that Chem-Trend has built over the years.

Chem-Trend’s story is unique, read about how our company grew from one man’s search to solve a problem.

History of Chem-Trend

Chem-Trend has a rich history spanning 50 years and many product lines

1960: Chem-Trend Founded.

Peer Lorentzen, a Chemical Engineer, aided by his wife Birgit, a Chemist herself, experimented with the development of release agents for polyurethane foam in the kitchen of their home. After sending out many sample jars of their newly developed product, Peer is encouraged to move production out of his home and into a rented garage in Howell, Michigan and Chem-Trend is established.

Peer Lorentzen

1960: Chem-Trend Expands Focus with Die Casting.

After finding initial success developing a completely new approach to releasing polyurethane foam from the molds for production of automotive seat cushions, Peer turns his attention to solving problems associated with the graphite and solvent based die lubricants of the time. Chem-Trend enters the die cast industry, first introducing a graphite free die lubricant and later an innovative water-based technology for die lubricants, which at the time was considered impossible.

1962: Chem-Trend Establishes First European Distributorship.

Peer Lorentzen, having emigrated to the U.S. from Denmark in 1954, had a strong sense of the global marketplace. Chem-Trend, appointed its first international distributor covering the territories of Germany, Switzerland & Austria.

1963: Chem-Trend Builds its First Dedicated Production Facility.

Increased growth resulted in the need for additional capacity. The first Chem-Trend owned manufacturing facility was constructed in Howell, Michigan. Over time the facility was expanded to more than ten times its original size and still functions today as one of Chem-Trend’s key global manufacturing facilities leveraging the latest technologies available.

Change of address cardConstruction site

1963: Chem-Trend Develops Structure to Support Continued Growth of Industry Expertise.

Chem-Trend establishes the Die Cast Division and allocates dedicated resources toward this specific market segment. This becomes the model for all other industry segments served by Chem-Trend going forward. Each market is provided with dedicated product development and technical support laboratories and staff who become industry segment experts allowing Chem-Trend to become extremely knowledgeable about the problems and processes of the customers that they serve. Thus enabling Chem-Trend to become the industry leader they are today.

Die Cast Division

1965: Chem-Trend Opens First Sales Office Outside of the United States.

Understanding the benefits that a direct sales force provides our customers, Chem-Trend opened an office in Denmark and established a direct sales force for Europe.

Newspaper clipping: Howell Firm Opens Branch In Denmark

1969: Chem-Trend Becomes Recognized for its Technological Leadership.

Due to Chem-Trend’s strong technological solutions and innovative products for the die cast industry, Chem-Trend receives the endorsement of the Die Casting Research Foundation, part of the American Die Cast Institute, again demonstrating leadership in the Chemical Specialties market.

Endorsement of the Die Casting Research Foundation

1969: Chem-Trend Establishes Key Relationship in Asia.

Understanding the increasing importance of its automotive manufacturing sector Chem-Trend establishes a key relationship in Japan for distributing products and providing technical support to customers in the Die Cast segment.

1971: Chem-Trend’s Record for Safety is Recognized.

With Chem-Trend’s focus on safety, our manufacturing processes and products are highlighted by the receipt of the National Safety Council’s Award of Merit. This begins a long tradition of safety awards at Chem-Trend.

1974: Chem-Trend Builds Second Manufacturing Facility.

Chem-Trend’s continued growth in Europe calls for the establishment of local production, product development and a support laboratory in order to better respond to growing customer demand. Chem-Trend opens a new plant and laboratory in Denmark to fulfil these needs.

Second Manufacturing Facility

1978: Chem-Trend Develops Line of Semi-Permanent Release Agents for Rubber Molding.

Chem-Trend expands into the rubber industry by innovating a new line of semi-permanent release agents, improving the efficiency and reducing processing costs for molders of rubber products.

Mono Coat Label

1985: Chem-Trend Acquires GreenChem Products.

The acquisition and successful integration of the products and technology developed by this specialist of the Polyurethane industry allows Chem-Trend to expand its expertise and customer base to better serve its markets.

1986: Chem-Trend Begins Joint-Venture in Mexico.

The continuing trend toward a model of distributed production in the automotive sector throughout North America, and the world, encourages Chem-Trend to expand. A Joint-Venture partnership is formed in Mexico that later becomes a fully integrated part of Chem-Trend’s North American region.

1986: Chem-Trend Opens Office in South America.

Understanding the growing importance of the South American automotive manufacturing market, Chem-Trend establishes an office and production facility in Brazil, the largest economy in the Southern Hemisphere. Later, Brazil is made home to Chem-Trend’s Southern Hemisphere regional headquarters.

1987: Chem-Trend Begins Joint-Venture in Korea.

The continuing growth of the automotive market throughout Asia and the growing strength of the Korean automotive market lead Chem-Trend to further geographic expansion. A Joint-Venture relationship in Korea is established which later becomes a fully integrated part of Chem-Trend’s Asia Pacific region.

1987: Chem-Trend Increases Manufacturing and Development Resources.

Growth of our business required additional manufacturing capacity and enhanced, industry specific research and development facilities. Chem-Trend builds new office, laboratory and manufacturing facilities in Howell, Michigan as the company’s new global headquarters, incorporating the headquarters for its North American regional organization.

1988: Chem-Trend is Purchased by Burmah Castrol.

Nearing retirement, Peer Lorentzen finds a buyer for Chem-Trend that will provide strong resources and support for Chem-Trend’s continued growth with a relationship that also continues and strengthens the core values Peer put in place. Burmah Castrol acquires Chem-Trend and makes it a standalone business unit focused on chemical specialties and release agent markets.

1990: Chem-Trend achieves ISO 9001 certification.

Demonstrating Chem-Trend’s long established commitment to quality, we are the first company within Burmah Castrol and the first release agent company to be awarded with the ISO 9001 certification. The first Chem-Trend ISO certification was issued to our Denmark facility, Chem-Trend A/S, with forthcoming ISO certifications issued throughout the Chem-Trend global infrastructure.

1990: Chem-Trend Enters Tire Industry.

Through the development of a new line of innovative tire paints, Chem-Trend adds a new dimension of value added products and services to the tire industry. Lending Chem-Trend’s history of excellence to this product line, Chem-Trend becomes a global leader in the tire manufacturing industry in a very short time.

1991: Chem-Trend Acquires Portions of Park Chemical Company’s Release Agent Line.

The purchase enables Chem-Trend to expand its breadth of offerings in the polyurethane industry segment by complementing its existing technology and product line portfolio.

1991: Chem-Trend Acquires the PERMA-MOLD® Product Line.

The purchase of a portfolio of polyurethane molding products from the Brulin Company helps Chem-Trend expand its technology base and product offerings further into the polyurethane industry, with significant focus on release agents for the rigid polyurethane foam used in the refrigeration industry.

1991: Chem-Trend Establishes a Representative Office in Singapore.

The continuing economic growth and development in the Asia-Pacific region spurs Chem-Trend to expand its resources in this strategic area. The representative office in Singapore later becomes home to Chem-Trend’s Asia-Pacific regional headquarters, supporting the expansion over time of offices, manufacturing facilities, distribution relationships and warehousing units throughout the region.

1997: Chem-Trend Acquires Portions of Dow Corning’s Tire Release Agent Business.

The acquisition of the Dow Corning tire release agent business in the America’s and Europe, along with an agreement to become a sole distributor of some of Dow Corning’s well respected tire industry product portfolio strengthens Chem-Trend’s ability to serve the needs of its customers and provides additional momentum in the development of innovative products for the tire and automotive industries.

1997: Chem-Trend Acquires the Pura® Line of Polyurethane Products.

The acquisition of the Pura® business from Air Products brought with it a strong brand and products well known throughout Europe. Adding a new, strategically located, manufacturing facility in Europe, with complementary technology and a product line portfolio for the polyurethane industry continues Chem-Trend’s global leadership in the chemical specialties markets.

1998: Chem-Trend Acquires Chemlease®.

The successful integration of the well established product line and global distribution network of Chemlease®, a well-known and respected provider of innovative release agents for the composites industry, helped solidify Chem-Trend’s commitment and leadership to this industry segment.

2001: Chem-Trend Begins Joint-Venture Relationship with Chemlease Japan.

Following the successful integration of the Chemlease business into Chem-Trend, a formal relationship is established with Chemlease’s highly experienced distribution partner in Japan. The relationship between Chemlease Japan and Chem-Trend expands over time to also cover the industry segments of Tire, Composites and Rubber in the key Japanese market.

2001: Chem-Trend Forms New Organization in India.

Understanding the huge growth potential in India, Chem-Trend establishes a new organization to focus resources on supporting this advancing market. The organization later becomes the foundation for Chem-Trend’s India regional headquarters.

2001: Chem-Trend is Purchased by Cinven.

After BP Amoco purchased Burmah Castrol, and consequently Chem-Trend as well, in 2000, they then sold Chem-Trend to the private equity group Cinven in 2001. BP Amoco’s desire was to divest themselves of all businesses that were not associated with their core market of oil & gas, while Chem-Trend was seen as a valuable holding for Cinven due to our technological leadership, financial strength and strong market position.

2004: Chem-Trend is purchased by Freudenberg & Co.

Freudenberg, of Weinheim, Germany purchases Chem-Trend and forms Freudenberg Chemical Specialities (FCS). The FCS group includes Klüber Lubrication, a world leader in the field of specialized lubricants for industrial application and OKS, a manufacturer and developer of lubricants and other performance products for manufacturing operations. Together the three companies form a strong combination of product development, technological innovation and industrial expertise in a broad range of manufacturing settings.

Kluber LubricationOKSChem-Trend

2005: Chem-Trend Expands into Thermoplastics and Enhances its Polyurethane and Die Cast Capabilities.

The integration of the Klüber Chemie Deutschland (KCD) organization into Chem-Trend establishes us as an innovative market driven leader in the thermoplastic industry segment while also expanding our product and development portfolio in polyurethane. Additionally, the transfer of the Klüber Lubrication Die Cast business to Chem-Trend greatly enhances our presence in this industry throughout Europe and grows our portfolio of industry leading products. The combination brings with it a group of experienced personnel as well as a second German manufacturing, laboratory and administrative site. This site, located in Maisach, Germany is named as Chem-Trend’s European regional headquarters.

2006: Chem-Trend Enters into Wood Composite Industry.

Observing the strong similarity between the Wood Composite/Panel Pressing industry and the other industries served so successfully by Chem-Trend throughout its history, Chem-Trend enters the segment. Its first key measure of success is its development of products to aid the industry in overcoming the challenges faced by the use of pMDI resin binders. As we continue to research and develop new products in this area we will help move the industry away from the long standing use of formaldehyde binders.

2008: Chem-Trend Opens Key Manufacturing Facility in China.

A new manufacturing and administration facility is opened in Qingpu, China representing an important milestone in our commitment to further expand our global presence while leveraging this vast new market to strengthen our supply chain in the Asia-Pacific region.

2010: Chem-Trend Celebrates 50 Years of Excellence.

Festivities are held in all Chem-Trend offices around the globe during 2010 in recognition of our fifty years in business. The remarkable accomplishments of our founder, Peer Lorentzen, and all of the people who contributed to our growth over the years are recognized during the events. Most notable is the event held in Howell, Michigan where Birgit Lorentzen shared stories of the company’s earlier days when she and Peer would mix samples in the kitchen of their home.

2013: Chem-Trend Acquires Zyvax®.

The acquisition of the broad product line portfolio, technology and global distribution network of Zyvax®, a well-respected and highly regarded provider of innovative release systems for the composites industry, uniquely positions Chem-Trend to serve both the advanced composites and traditional FRP segments of the composites industry.