采用半永久性脱模技术提高效率、降低成本

半永久性脱模技术主要用于各类复合材料成型应用。半永久性脱模剂是专门设计来粘合到模具的表面,以提供一个耐化学和机械侵蚀的持久性聚合物层。对于复合材料制造过程中使用的所有常用材料,每一款Chemlease®半永久性脱模剂都能提供优异的脱模性能。对于在准备模具过程中使用几种脱模剂及一层封孔剂,或使用多层脱模剂的方法,我们通常称为“脱模体系”。

Chemlease®半永久性脱模体系包括:

  • 清洁剂
  • 底涂
  • 封孔剂
  • 面层脱模剂

脱模体系是一种视具体脱模情况而变化的灵活体系。并非所有构成元素都是必需的– 比如说底涂。然而,由于闭模成型环境极为复杂,我们仍建议在这些流程中使用底涂。同时,半永久性体系的面层脱模剂总是必需的,面层脱模剂的特殊性质为零件制造商提供多种选择。例如:

  • 传统的半永久性脱模剂产品需要涂抹到模具表面,然后磨光,以保持模具表面光洁度。
  • 多种不同润滑度的面层脱模剂产品可用于深脱模斜度的模具,以使脱模操作更加方便。这些产品特别适合于RTM模具的“B”面,因为层压制件常常收紧在模具B面。
  • 即擦即用型面层脱模剂产品施用后无需磨光,即使施用在光洁度最好的模具上亦是如此。该产品干燥后,表面不会产生任何条纹。此产品也可喷涂使用,效果与涂抹类似。
  • 如果你想知道面层脱模剂施用确切部位(因为大多数半永久性脱模剂是透明的),你可以选择含蜡的半永久性脱模剂,这种脱模剂可在模具表面形成一个朦胧层。施用后稍等片刻即可将朦胧层磨光。

由于复合材料加工通常采用“冷模”工艺,针对上述四种情形,通常会选用溶剂型配方面层脱模剂。然而,肯天公司已经开发出一组强大的水基配方面层脱模剂。如果模具表面光洁度较高,可先擦拭水性面层脱模剂,待其干燥后磨光。而在表面光洁度要求不高的情况下,则可以先将面层脱模剂擦拭上去,然后让其干燥。

半永久性的脱模体系为模塑商提供了一些特殊属性,比如:

  • 表面光亮度的重复仿制
  • 修整光洁度
  • 减少过早脱模
  • 低粘连度/高涂层耐久度

表面处理

模具表面的性状通常会决定成型零件的表面光洁度。低光洁度模具生产出来零件的光洁度也低,反之亦然。无论是高光洁度模具还是低光洁度模具,都可以使用清洁剂、封孔剂和半永久性面层脱模剂进行处理。这将使模具经过多次脱模后仍能保持光洁度。不断及时修补面层脱模剂有助于保持光洁度。

高或低光洁度 - 模具表面的修正

肯天公司可以提供特殊的模具底涂,无论模具表面性状如何,你都可以用这种底涂将模具表面处理成低或高光洁度表面。这种底涂可以被视为“表面修饰层”。譬如,当同一模具在生产过程中,有时需要用来生产高光洁度部件,而有时则需要用来生产低光洁度部件时,这种底涂就成了理想的选择。由于肯天公司的底涂可牢固附着在模具表面,形成一层非常坚固的薄膜,因此脱模体系可以表现出更高的耐久性。

较低的过早脱模率

制造非常大的模塑件时,成型部件的自身重量可能会导致过早脱模现象的发生。脱模剂必须可以将模塑件薄层保持到位,直到其完全熟化- 否则将造成部件畸形,甚至报废。肯天公司已开发出独特的Chemlease®产品,以解决这个特殊难题。

低转移率/成膜耐久性

由于半永久性脱模体系完全固化到模具表面,只有很少的脱模剂粘连到成型的部件上。这意味着部件成型后,上漆和胶合的准备工作可以缩短到最低限度。由于只有极少量的脱模剂粘连到成型部件,所以给模具涂一次面层脱模剂就可以完成多次脱模。

半永久性脱模技术虽然给模塑商带来极大的便利,它们并不是对每一种复合材料应用都适用。对于某些应用领域,只有通用的脱模体系才能胜任。如果你想更多地了解通用技术与半永久性技术的优缺点,以及与贵公司制造流程最匹配的技术,请与我们的复合材料行业专家联系

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

Semi-Permanent Technology for Greater Efficiency and Reduced Costs

Semi-permanent mold release technology is primarily used in all composite molding applications. Semi-permanent release agents are designed to bond to the mold surface, providing a durable polymeric layer that is resistant to both chemical and mechanical attack. Every Chemlease® semi-permanent mold release will provide excellent release-ease for all materials commonly used in the composite fabrication process. If a combination of release agent plus a sealer is used in preparing a mold, or more than one coat of release agent is used, this is often referred to as a “release system”.

The Chemlease® semi-permanent release system consists of:

  • Cleaner
  • Primer
  • Sealer
  • Top-coat

This system is developed to be flexible depending on the specific release situation. Not all components are always required – such as the need for a primer. However, because of the very aggressive molding environment of most closed molding situations, use of the primer is always recommended for these processes. As well, the top coat of a semi-permanent system is always required because it is the special properties of the top coat that provide the fabricator with options. For example:

  • Traditional semi-permanent products were designed to be wiped on to a mold surface and then buffed off in order to maintain the surface finish of the mold surface.
  • High slip varieties of this type of product are available for use on molds with deep draft angles in order to make the de-molding operation easier. These products are particularly suitable for the “B” sides of RTM molds where the laminate often shrinks tightly on this part of the mold.
  • A wipe-apply product is available that does not need the mold to be buffed after application, even on the most glossy mold surface. The product will dry to a streak-free finish. This product can also be spray-applied to provide a similar effect.
  • If you want to have the security of knowing exactly where your top-coat has been applied (since most semi-permanents are crystal clear formulations), you can select a wax-containing semi-permanent that forms a hazy layer on the mold surface when wipe-applied. The hazy layer can then be buffed to a brilliant shine after a short wait.

Since composites processing is usually a “cold mold” process, the above options would normally have been addressed by solvent-based formulations. However, Chem-Trend has developed a strong portfolio of water-based options that are also available. Water-based top coats can either be wipe-applied, allowed to dry and then buffed off in the case of a glossy mold surface or wipe-applied and allowed to dry should the surface required be non-cosmetic.

Semi-permanent release systems provide special attributes to the molder, such as:

  • Repetitive Imitation of Surface Finish
  • Modification of Gloss Level
  • Reduction of Pre-release
  • Low Transfer/High Film Durability

Surface finish

The surface of the prepared mold will usually dictate the surface finish that is seen on the molded part. A low gloss finish mold will turn out a low gloss part and vice-versa for a high gloss mold. A mold that is either high or low gloss can be prepared with a cleaner, sealer and a choice of semi-permanent top-coat, which will maintain the level of gloss through many de-moldings. A timely touch-up with the top-coat from time to time will maintain this performance

High or low gloss – mold surface modification

Chem-Trend can provide special mold primers that offer the option of preparing molds with either a low gloss or high gloss surface finish, regardless of the state of the actual mold surface. These primers can be regarded more as a “surface-modifiers”. In special cases where the same mold sometimes needs to be used to produce parts with high gloss and, at other times, low gloss, these primers are ideal. Since Chem-Trend mold primers adhere strongly to the mold surface and form a very tough film, the release system that is used will exhibit greater durability

Low pre-release

The manufacture of very large moldings can be susceptible to pre-release, due to the sheer weight of the article being molded. The mold release must hold the laminate in place until the part is fully cured – otherwise the part will be misshapen and possibly need to be scrapped. Chem-Trend has developed unique Chemlease® products in order to handle this specific issue.

Low transfer/film durability

Since the semi-permanent system fully cures to the mold surface, there is very little mold release transfer to the molded article. This means that the amount of preparation for painting or gluing after molding is kept to a minimum. Since only a very small amount of the mold release transfers to the molded part, one can expect the top coat to provide many releases before there is the need to re-coat the mold.

Although Semi-Permanent technologies offer great benefits to the molder, they are not right for every composite application. For some applications only a conventional release system will work. If you want to learn more about the trade-offs between conventional and semi-permenant technologies and which might be best for your process contact us to meet with one of our composite industry experts.

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.