创新型冲头润滑油能够降低操作成本、提高生产效率

在高压压铸过程中,熔融金属通过圆柱形料缸的活塞(或冲头)注入模腔内,活塞(或冲头)在高速高压条件下通过內浇口将熔融金属注入模具。对冲头适当的润滑能够使合金的充填过程比较顺畅并减少能耗,从而延长冲头和料缸寿命。

冲头润滑油可最大限度地减少冲头磨损,从而延长冲头寿命并减少更换冲头部件产生的停机时间。冲头润滑油还能够帮助在冲头周围形成一个密封圈,以防熔融金属从冲头渗漏造成冲头在前进与后退过程中产生机械问题。料缸内温度通常比模具内温度低100摄氏度(210华氏度)左右。肯天系列产品不仅能够保护料缸末端部件并协助生产优质铸件,而且能够最大程度地减少对环境的负面影响。

多孔是压铸操作过程中的最大问题。压铸工艺常常用于使用轻金属制造轻质部件,以取代钢质或铁质部件。由于轻金属的固有强度低于钢质部件,因此应避免产生任何降低部件强度的情况。铸件横截面的小孔会对其抗张强度产生较大影响。气孔是金属熔液高速注入模具过程产生的结果。然而,模具内含有水分或者模具或料缸内任何有机化合物的分解均会加重气孔现象。冲头润滑油可能含有水分、有机物或两者皆有,这些物质均可能导致产生气孔问题。肯天精心设计的高效产品确保向料缸内准确注料,仅产生微量分解物,因此铸造过程中产生的气孔问题可忽略不计。

Pellet plunger lube porosity defects Oil-based plunger lube porosity defects Water-based plunger lube porosity defects
颗粒冲头润滑油 油性冲头润滑油 水性冲头润滑油


铸件表面的深色或变色区域部分原因是使用冲头润滑油产生的结果,多数是由于润滑油使用过量或润滑油种类选择错误。

Over application of plunger lubricants example "A"Over application of plunger lubricants example "B"
冲头油使用过量

然而,有时也可能由于各操作设备之间的操作不慎或不当所导致,还可能由于更深层次的问题造成。冲头润滑油使用过量通常表示冲头寿命延长或存在一定误差。肯天的高效高性能产品能够确保始终使用适量润滑油。

High-efficiency plunger lubricant
高效冲头油


为了便于客户使用,肯天开发出多种产品。固体冲头润滑油一般呈小颗粒状,通过自动设备从注入孔进入料缸。载体用于熔化金属并协助在冲头和料缸表面分布添加物。

油基冲头润滑油与固体冲头润滑油功能相似,由于油基冲头润滑剂呈液态,可在雾化或非雾化状态下使用,以提高润滑油的表面覆盖率。作为清洁能源产品的领先企业,肯天开发的产品具有卓越的耐磨性能,甚至可用于大型冲头系统。我们的高效产品通常可在传统冲头润滑油的一半用量情况下使用。

石墨是众多冲头润滑油的主要功能成分,可用于油、水及蜡等各类载体。载体不仅可作为润滑油,还可帮助在料缸表面分布添加剂。另外,根据不同的应用方法,石墨还可帮助固定添加剂。肯天技术侧重于液态石墨配方,能够提供极其稳定的悬浮液与泥浆,从而提高进料准确性并减少车间浪费。

Stability comparison of filled plunger lubes
与肯天竞争对手(左)相比,肯天含石墨润滑油具有良好的均匀稳定性。


压铸机料缸末端的主要问题是熔融金属在注入料缸时可能产生烟雾和火焰。熔融金属的热量可能造成润滑油内的有机物着火。此外,在低氧环境下,不完全燃烧会导致冒烟。肯天通过水性润滑剂和特殊配方减少油性材料造成的发烟和燃烧现象,从而解决上述问题。

Smoke comparison test of plunger lubes
将肯天润滑油加热至生产所需温度,比对其身边竞争对手正在加热的润滑油(左),可发现肯天产品产生的烟量较少(右)。

 

Flammability comparison of "filled" and "unfilled" plunger lubricants

 新型无粉产品     旧版无粉产品     新型含粉产品       旧版含粉产品

“含粉”与“无粉”冲头润滑油的可燃性比较

 


我们不断开发创新冲头润滑油技术,以此推动压铸行业发展。敬请联系我们,了解我们的知识、经验以及产品如何提高您的操作效率。

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

资源

案例分析:

  • 高产品性能带来低运营成本

    高产品性能带来低运营成本

    了解肯天的产品性能如何帮助客户节约成本。

    查看PDF

Innovative Plunger Lubricants to Reduce Operational Costs and Increase Efficiency

In high-pressure die-casting the molten metal is injected into the die cavity through a cylindrical sleeve by a piston (or plunger) that forces the molten metal through a narrow orifice at high speed and pressure. Proper lubrication of the plunger is essential to provide smooth filling of the cavity, reduce energy consumption during the shot and extend the life of the plunger tip and sleeve.

Plunger lubricants are used to minimize the wear to the plunger tip, thus increasing its lifetime and reducing the downtime for replacement. They also help provide a seal around the tip to prevent molten metal from leaking past the tip and causing mechanical problems in advancing and retracting the plunger. The temperatures inside the shot sleeve are typically about 100 degrees C (210°F) less than those in the die. Chem-Trend makes a wide range of products to protect the shot-end components and assist in the production of high quality castings, while minimizing any adverse environmental effects.

Porosity is one of the biggest problems in die casting. The die casting process is very often used to make lightweight components out of light metals to replace steel or iron parts. Since the intrinsic strength of these lighter metals is less than that of steel, anything that can adversely affect the strength of the component is undesirable. The presence of small pores within the cross section of the casting can have a big impact on the tensile strength. Gas porosity is a consequence of the very high velocities at which the metal is injected into the mold. However, it can also be aggravated by the presence of water on the die and the decomposition of any organic compounds within the die and the shot sleeve. Since plunger lubricants tend to contain water, organics or both, they can contribute to this problem. Chem-Trend’s well-designed efficient products facilitate accurate dosing into the sleeve and produce small amounts of decomposition products, thus having a negligible effect on the porosity in the casting.

Pellet plunger lube porosity defects Oil-based plunger lube porosity defects Water-based plunger lube porosity defects
Pellet plunger lube Oil-based plunger lube Water-based plunger lube

The presence of dark or discolored areas on the surface of the castings can invariably be traced to the application of plunger lubricants. In most cases either too much lubricant or the wrong kind of lubricant has been applied.

Over application of plunger lubricants example "A"Over application of plunger lubricants example "B"
Over application of plunger lubricants

While this can be due to a lack of care or variation between operators, it may be symptomatic of deeper problems. Using too much plunger lubricant is usually a sign that the plunger life is being stretched or there is some misalignment. Chem-Trend’s high efficiency and high performance products allow the correct amount of lubricant to be applied consistently.

High-efficiency plunger lubricant
High-efficiency plunger lubricant

Chem-Trend products are available in a variety of forms for convenience. Solid plunger lubes are most frequently supplied as small pellets that are introduced by an automated device through the pour hole into the shot sleeve. The carrier is designed to melt and then assist in the distribution of additives over the surface of the tip and shot sleeve.

Oil-borne plunger lubricants are similar in function but, as they are liquids, they may be applied with or without atomization to enhance surface coverage. Chem-Trend is a world leader in clean engineered products that can provide exceptional wear performance even in large plunger systems. Our high efficiency products typically can be used at about half the feed rates of conventional plunger lubricants.

Graphite is a key functional material in many plunger lubricants. It can be supplied in a variety of carriers including oil, water and waxes. The carrier serves not only as a lubricant itself, but also to help distribute the additives over the surface of the shot sleeve, and, depending on the method of application, to hold the additives in place once applied. Chem-Trend technology has focused on liquid graphite formulations that provide extremely stable suspensions and slurries that improve the accuracy of feeding, and reduce waste in the plant.

Stability comparison of filled plunger lubes
Notice the uniform stability of the graphite lubricant in the carrier for the Chem-Trend product (right) as compared to a competitor (left).

A common concern in the shot-end of the die-casting machine is the formation of smoke and flames when molten metal is added into the shot sleeve. The heat of the melt can cause the organics in the lubricant to catch fire and, as this is a low oxygen environment, the incomplete combustion results in the formation of smoke. Chem-Trend has addressed this through water-based lubricants and special formulations that reduce the smoke and flammability of oil-based materials.

Smoke comparison test of plunger lubes
While heating Chem-Trend lubricants to production temperatures alongside the competitors (left), you will notice the lower smoke formation by the Chem-Trend product (right).

 

Flammability comparison of "filled" and "unfilled" plunger lubricants
Flammability comparison of "filled" and "unfilled" plunger lubricants

We are continually innovating new plunger lubricant technologies to support the die cast industry. Why not contact us to see how our knowledge, experience and products can help improve your operation’s bottom line?

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

Resources

Case Study:

  • Product Performance Leads to Operational Savings

    See how Chem-Trend products perform, saving our customers money.

    View The PDF