热塑性塑料加工

加工助剂解决热塑性塑料加工过程中的各种问题

热塑性塑料加工操作流程包括将具备热塑性塑料特性(加热时软化)的熔化(粘性)材料注入模型或模具,然后冷却(固化)形成所需形状。最早使用的材料是用溶剂处理后的硝棉制作而成的明胶,由亚历山大·帕克斯(Alexander Parkes)在1855年发明。该材料已成为许多现代装饰性和实用性塑料的起源。新型合成聚合物与将热塑性塑料材料加工成所需形状的新工艺同步发展。热塑性塑料材料熔化后在低温下固化,冷却模具通常用于将熔化的聚合物加工成所需形状。肯天在模塑、成型以及铸造领域拥有50多年经验,在热塑性塑料加工助剂开发领域处于世界领先地位。

过去100年来,伴随新型聚合物的发展,将熔化材料加工成固定形状的工艺也在不断发展。该发展趋势的主要驱动因素之一是用热塑性塑料材料取代金属或热固性塑料,因为热塑性塑料材料可重复使用,且重量更轻。虽然多数热塑性塑料加工工艺均涉及某种挤压成型,加工工艺的名称却各不相同,参数略有差异,使用的设备和加工助剂也有所不同。肯天在这方面拥有丰富经验,开发出Lusin®系列产品,可满足各种热塑性塑料加工工艺的不同需求。我们的产品能够帮助您提高加工效率,从而降低零件加工成本。此外,我们的多款产品已通过美国国家卫生基金会认证。

随着材料领域的持续创新,热塑性塑料加工工艺不断变化,主要使用五种工艺。核心内容是通过加热将热塑性塑料聚合物加工成不同形状,这些形状还可根据需要重新改变。

用于热塑性塑料材料成型的五种主要热塑性塑料加工工艺包括:

  • 注射成型
  • 吹塑成型
  • 挤出成型(包括压延分支工艺)
  • 造粒
  • 旋转模塑

注射成型
注射成型可用于成品量产,成本低廉。热塑性塑料材料受压后注入模具,模腔形状决定零件形状和成品表面纹理。该工艺可用于生产从十分之几克到几十公斤的零件。此外,注射成型工艺还可西分为多个子类别,每个类别均有特定参数以及实现高效生产面临的问题。

采用注射成型工艺可生产高精度零件,例如精密工程中使用的零件,也可在短时间内实现量产。该工艺可确保零件表面满足特定需求。此外,注射成型工艺成本低廉,是(几乎)所有量产活动的首选工艺。然而,该工艺的工具成本通常较高,相对简易的工具同样如此。因此,在零件加工过程以及工具运输和储存阶段妥善保护工具至关重要。鉴于以上原因,肯天开发了多款生产助剂,主要用于提高注射成型工艺效率(如脱模剂)以及保护模具和机械设备(如防腐蚀产品和清洗料)。

吹塑成型
吹塑成型是用热塑性塑料材料制成中空容器之生产工艺的统称。吹塑成型工艺包括几道独特工序,例如:

  • 挤出成型(连续挤出或间歇性挤出)
  • 伸展
  • 注射

每种吹塑成型工艺在提高生产效率和减少废品方面均存在某些问题。肯天利用在该领域积累的多年经验开发了能够解决此类问题的专业产品。

挤压成型
挤出成型是一个宽泛的类别。在此过程中,塑料在一道连续工艺中成型。几乎所有热塑性塑料加工工艺均包含某种挤出,挤出成型工艺可细分为三个主要子类别:

  • 管线与型材
  • 片材
  • 薄膜
    • 流延
    • 吹胀

此外,流延是热塑性塑料挤出成型工艺的另一分支。在流延工艺中,熔化的塑料通过滚筒生产塑料薄膜(聚氯乙烯、聚乙烯、聚碳酸酯等)。

肯天的模具维护产品系列和热塑性塑料相关产品专门用于支持采用挤出成型工艺的高效生产。

造粒生产
造粒生产是通过使用添加剂(填料等)对塑料制品进行精炼,以此针对性地优化模制零件的特定轮廓。该工艺主要应用于挤出机,包括输送、熔化、分散、混合、排气及升压等操作。

我们开发的专业产品能够提高热塑性塑料加工的操作效率,减少废品。得益于此,我们成为热塑性塑料辅助行业的佼佼者。

旋转模塑
旋转模塑工艺主要应用于生产薄壁中空零件,该工艺保持模具双轴旋转与加热状态,将粉末状热塑性塑料材料逐层铺至模具内表。使用该方法制成的零件具有良好的匀质性,外壁较薄。旋转模工艺技术适用于对外壁外观要求较高但对内表要求不高的产品。

旋转模塑工艺(转塑)适用于多个应用领域的零件少量生产,例如散装贮液罐、儿童玩具以及汽车零部件。脱模剂对于旋转模塑而成的零件形状至关重要。脱模剂在模过程中须承担几项任务,其中部分任务存在冲突。旋转模塑工艺过程中出现的问题与其他热塑性塑料挤压成型工艺过程中出现的问题存在显著差异。肯天开发了一系列优质产品,专门用于解决旋转模塑过程中出现的问题。更多关于此类产品的信息,请参考旋转模塑工艺主页或联系我们,我们将安排旋转模塑专家与您沟通。

热塑性塑料加工全系列产品

热塑性塑料行业使用的Lusin®产品历史可追溯到50多年前。我们每天利用自己的经验为全球客户解决生产过程中碰到的各种问题。我们发现许多化工产品供应商未将热塑性塑料制造商的需求列为制定产品开发计划过程中的首要考虑因素。因此,我们实施了一项持续投资计划,旨在进一步提升Lusin®产品性能,为全球市场提供优质服务。这也是我们开发多款清洗料(观看英语视频,将显示如何清除化合物)、脱模剂、润滑剂、清洗剂以及保护材料的原因,我们希望在不断提高产品质量与生产效率的同时将产品对环境的负面影响降至最低,以此提升您的产品价值。

  • 清洗料用于清洗螺杆、炮筒、模头组件及工具并延长其使用寿命。观看我们的英文视频介绍,可以看到我们是如何清洗这些化合物。
    使用清洗料还可提高整体生产效率,并通过减少次品与缩短变色和/或换料的机器/人工停机时间降低成本。五种主要热塑性塑料成型工艺中,只有旋转模塑不属于挤出成型,因此只有旋转模塑工艺不会产生螺杆、机筒、模具与工具机械内碳化物结垢的问题。其他四种主要热塑性塑料加工操作均存在碳化物结垢的严重问题,既降低生产效率,又增加废品数量,并且延长变色与换料时间。因此,使用清洗料对于当代塑料制造商至关重要。
  • 模具维护产品可提高生产效率、保护模具设备、最终降低工具成本。我们基于对全球热塑性塑料操作领域问题的深入理解开发了系列清洗剂、润滑剂和防锈剂。观看我们的英文视频可以了解更多有关热塑性塑料清洗剂润滑剂防锈剂
  • 脱模剂可最大程度地提高加工效率,减少废品,保证成品表面质量满足客户要求。观看我们的热塑性塑料脱模剂视频,可以了解更多相关信息。

如欲详细了解热塑性塑料加工操作辅助产品,请阅读清洗料、模具维护产品以及脱模剂页面内容,也可与我们联系,我们将安排热塑性塑料行业专家与您直接沟通。若未找到您的特定应用类别或需求,请与我们联系,我们可根据您的工艺流程为您定制解决方案。

返回顶部 »

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

资源

案例分析:

  • 注塑成型变色

    注塑成型变色

    了解如何通过使用肯天专业清洗料增加价值。

    查看PDF

小册子:

  • Lusin® 专业产品介绍

    Lusin® Professional Products Overview

    点击下载Lusin®产品目录,寻找合适的Lusin®品牌脱模剂。

    查看PDF

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

Resources

Case Study:

  • Color Changes for Injection Molding

    Chem-Trend's Lusin® Products Address Injection Molding Color Changes

    Learn about how to add value through the use of Chem-Trend’s highly specialized purging compounds.

    View The PDF

Case Study:

  • Color Transition for Blow Molding

    Color Transition for Blow Molding

    See how the use of Chem-Trend’s highly specialized purging compounds adds value to an operation.

    View The PDF

Brochures:

  • Mold Maintenance Products

    Chem-Trend Thermoplastics Mold Maintenance Products

    Chem-Trend release agents and process aids for Thermoplastics are among the finest in the industry. Download our Thermoplastics product selector guide to help you determine the right product for your process needs.

    View The PDF

Brochures:

  • Purging Compound Products

    Chem-Trend's Thermoplastics Purging Compound Products

    Lusin® has been a leader in the thermoplastics industry for more than 60 years. Learn more about how to optimize your thermoplastic processing with Lusin® purging compound products.

    View The PDF

Brochures:

  • FAQs: Lusin® Product Portfolio

    Chem-Trend's Lusin® Product Portfolio for Thermoplastics Applications FAQs

    Learn more about our Lusin® portfolio of mold maintenance products and get answers to frequently asked question.

    View The PDF

Brochures:

  • FAQs: Purging Compounds

    Chem-Trend's Thermoplastics Purging Compounds FAQs

    Learn more about purging compounds for thermoplastics applications and get answers to frequently asked questions.

    View The PDF

Brochures:

  • FAQs: Release Agents

    Chem-Trend's Thermoplastics Release Agents FAQs

    Looking for answers about release agents for thermoplastics processing applications? Learn more about frequently asked questions and the answers you need.

    View The PDF
Thermoplastics products

Manufacturing Aids for Many Thermoplastic Processing Challenges

Thermoplastic processing operations involve the process of moving melted (viscous) materials with thermoplastic characteristics (soften when heated) into some form or mold and then cooling (solidifying) the materials for the purpose of making desired shapes. The first material, a celluloid based on nitrocellulose treated with a solvent, was invented by Alexander Parkes in 1855. This material was the birth of many of the modern aesthetic and utility uses of plastics. Further development of new synthetic polymers goes hand in hand with the development of new processes to transform thermoplastic materials into desired shapes. Thermoplastic materials are melted and then solidified at lower temperatures, often a cooled mold is used to transform the polymer melt into a desired shape. Chem-Trend, with its over 50 years of experience working with molding, forming and casting operations, is a world leader in the development of manufacturing aids for thermoplastic processing.

The number of processes which have been developed over the last 100 years to transform melted materials into desired shapes is continuously increasing and goes along with the development of new polymers. One of the major driving forces behind this trend is to replace metal or thermoset plastics with thermoplastic materials that can be reused and are lighter in weight. Although most forms of thermoplastic processing involve some type of extrusion, the processes go under a variety of names, have slightly different parameters, utilize different equipment and require different processing aids. Chem-Trend has vast experience, and a very different approach toward making its Lusin® range of products serve the needs of all kinds of thermoplastic processes. Our products help improve processing efficiency, and therefore, reduce the costs of the final part being manufactured. Many can also be found that are NSF registered.

Thermoplastic processes are constantly evolving, due to continuous innovation in materials. However, five major processes are most often employed. The common theme among all of the processes is the use of a thermoplastic polymer that’s transformed by heat into a different shape, which can then be reversed.

The five major thermoplastic processes used to form thermoplastic materials are;

  • Injection Molding
  • Blow Molding
  • Extrusion (also includes the sub-process of Calendering)
  • Compounding
  • Rotational Molding

Injection Molding
Injection molding can be used to economically produce formed parts in large quantities. A thermoplastic material is injected under pressure into a mold, with the cavity of the mold determining the shape and surface texture of the finished part. Parts of these types can be found as small as a few tenths of a gram to as large as the two-digit kilogram range. The injection molding process can be further divided into multiple subcategories, all of which have their own specific parameters and challenges for efficient production.

With injection molding, objects can be produced with high accuracy, such as those produced for use in precision engineering, and can be mass-produced in a short time. With this process the surface of the component can be selected to match the particular need. As well, the injection molding process is (almost exclusively) the best economic choice for production of large quantities; however the cost of the tool is often a significant investment, even for relatively simple tools. Therefore, it is very important to protect the tooling both during the processing of the parts, as well as during shipment and storage periods. For these reasons Chem-Trend has developed multiple manufacturing aids focussed on both making the injection molding process more efficient, such as mold release agents, as well as to protect molds and machinery such as our anti-corrosion and purge compound products.

Blow Molding
Blow molding is a collective term for the production of hollow vessels made of thermoplastic materials. There are several distinct blow molding processes, such as;

  • Extrusion (Continuous or Intermittent)
  • Stretch
  • Injection

Each type of blow molding process presents its own particular challenges to efficiency and scrap rates. Chem-Trend’s years of experience in the field has driven our development of very specialized products to address the specific challenges of each process.

Extrusion
Extrusion is a broad category in which plastics are molded in one continuous process. Almost all processing of thermoplastics encompasses some type of extrusion, but the main extrusion process can be broken down into three main sub-categories;

  • Pipe & Profile
  • Sheet
  • Film
    • Cast
    • Blown

Additionally, calendering is yet another, small sub-segment of thermoplastic extrusion. In the calendering process, melted plastic is passed through columns of these rollers to produce plastic films (PVC, PE, PS, etc.).

Chem-Trend’s line of mold maintenance, and related products for thermoplastics are uniquely formulated to support efficient production utilizing the extrusion process.

Compounding
Compounding is a process of refining plastics by the addition of additives (fillers, etc.) for the targeted optimization of the characteristic profiles required for the parts being made. Compounding takes place predominantly in extruders and includes operations of: conveying, melting, dispersing, mixing, degassing and pressure buildup.

Our expertise in the development of products to promote efficiency and lower scrap within thermoplastic processing operations allows us a unique position within the industry to support thermoplastics compounders.

Rotational Molding
Rotational Molding is used to create thin-walled hollow forms by applying powdered thermoplastic layer by layer on the inner surfaces of a mold through biaxial rotation combined with heat. This method allows for relatively uniform, thin wall thickness. Rotomolding is a technique that suits products that need a good cosmetic outside appearance but do not require the inside surface to be as good looking.

The rotational molding process (rotomolding) enables relatively small volume part production for multitude applications, such as bulk fluid storage, children’s toys and automotive components. The release agent plays a critical part in the correct formation of rotomolded parts. It needs to perform several tasks, some of which appear to be conflicting. Rotational molding provides a very different set of challenges than those found in thermoplastic extrusion processes. Chem-Trend has developed a strong array of products specifically designed for meeting the challenges found in rotational molding. To learn more about those products read our main rotational molding page or contact us to speak with one of our rotomolding experts.

A Full Portfolio of Products for Thermoplastic Processing

The history of the Lusin® brand within the thermoplastic industry started well over five decades ago, and we utilize that experience every day as we work to solve production problems faced by our customers around the globe. Recognizing that the needs of thermoplastic processors were not at the forefront of the product development plans of many chemical suppliers, Chem-Trend embarked upon a program of continuous investment to further enhance the efficiency of our Lusin® products for the global marketplace. This is the philosophy behind the wide range of purging compounds (watch a video showing how purging compounds work), release agents, lubricants, cleaners and protective materials focused on the goal of increasing quality and productivity while minimizing any adverse impact on the environment, thus adding overall value to your bottom line.

  • Purge Compounds, to clean and extend the useful life of screws, barrels, die sets and tooling. Learn answers to frequently asked questions and watch our overview video to see our purging compounds in action. The use of purge compounds also increases overall efficiency and reduces costs by reducing scrap and machine/personnel downtime between color and/or material changeovers. Of the five major thermoplastic forming processes, only Rotational Molding is not considered a form of extrusion and therefore only Rotational Molding does not suffer from the problem of the build-up of carbonization within the screw, barrel, die set and tooling system machinery. The problem of carbonization is a significant issue for the other four major thermoplastic processing operations, and causes processors to suffer loss of efficiency, high scrap rates, and long changeover times. For this reason the use of purge compounds is critical to modern plastics processors.
  • Mold Maintenance products to improve efficiency, protect molding equipment and ultimately the investment in tooling. Our line of cleaners, lubricants and anti-corrosion agents have been developed from the intimate understanding of the challenges faced at thermoplastic operations around the world. Watch our videos on thermoplastic cleaners, lubricants and anti-corrosion agents, and learn more about mold maintenance products now.
  • Mold Release Agents, to maximize process efficiency, reducing scrap and providing final part surface finish that meets end customer requirements. Watch a video and learn answers to frequently asked questions about our thermoplastic release agents to find out more.

To learn more about the portfolio of products that we have developed to support thermoplastic processing operations read our sections on purging compounds, mold maintenance products and release agents, or contact us directly to speak with one of our thermoplastic industry experts. If you don’t see your specific application or need mentioned, contact us and we can review your process together and determine a custom solution for you.