复合材料生产

保护贵重工具的系统产品

肯天公司研制出可相互配合使用的系列化产品,使复合材料工业的模具生产更加高效和持久。肯天公司研发的“脱模体系”适用于复合材料或者金属制成的模具

 

应对复合材料模具的挑战

在理想情况下,刚打造成型的复合材料模具从阳模/母模取下后,在投产前应让它先熟化几天。“熟化过程”使得聚合物基质完全交联,并挥发掉基质中夹带的任何残留溶剂,使模具表面尽可能完备以应对成型过程的严格要求。

然而,由于生产过程的特殊需求,往往会省略熟化过程;因此模具时常还没有完全准备完毕就被投入生产。 “嫩”模具(熟化不完全)在成型过程中容易受到化学和机械侵蚀。

肯天公司开发出模具封孔剂和模具底涂来帮助模具(未熟化及熟化模具)抵御机械及化学侵蚀。

高光洁度模具和闭模模具“A”面-封孔

生产高光洁度部件的模具必须经过无瑕疵高光洁度表面处理,因为生产出来的零件表面光洁度往往是模具表面光洁度的“体现”。高光洁度模具表面意味着模具表面的孔隙很少甚至没有。这一阶段应先后给模具施用封孔剂及适当的脱模剂。封孔剂可确保封死模具表面任何孔隙,而脱模剂则可确保模具有适当表面,制品可以粘附其上。

非装饰性模具和闭模模具“B”面-底涂/封孔

用于生产需要进行成型后处理制品的复合材料模具,一般无需无瑕疵高光洁度处理。在闭模浇注和真空袋工艺过程中,非装饰性模具“B”面和“A”面一般直接与湿树脂或预浸树脂接触。因此,模具表面容易受到严重的化学以及机械(磨损)侵蚀。此类模具处理时应首先施以模具底涂,然后施以模具封孔剂,最后在成型开始时施以适当的脱模剂。

底涂起着“重型”封孔剂的作用,可确保模具表面与脱模体系其他部件完全隔离。模具封孔剂和脱模剂因此可以在脱模过程中充分发挥其应有作用。肯天底涂的另外一个好处是,当其完全干燥后,会产生高反应性表面,增强肯天公司生产的半永久性封孔剂及脱模剂的附着力。 

修理过的模具

从生产过程取出或修理过的模具应先彻底清洗,然后将模具修复部位处理一新。在重新投入使用时,整个模具应使用肯天脱模体系(模具底涂、封孔剂和脱模剂)进行处理。

概述

模具局部受损情况时有发生,遭损表面可能会经一些必要处理,甚至将其修复到原始全新状态。在这些情况下,所有从前使用过的脱模剂(如果是新模具,就是从阳模/母模传过来的),都已经被磨掉或化学反应掉,暴露出模具裸面。这时应使用肯天模具清洗剂,采用即涂即擦技术彻底清洗,确保模具表面完全清洁,以便吸附脱模体系底涂,为模具覆上必要保护层。

保护金属模具

金属模具虽然不像复合材料模具基质那样容易发生化学变化,但也需加以保护,防止遭到化学和机械侵蚀,特别是新的金属模具。并非所有的金属基板对半永久性封孔剂/脱模剂都有良好附着力。因此,可以采用肯天专门为此开发的底涂,这款底涂可以附着到几乎所有已知的金属基材上。底涂被喷涂并完全熟化后,就可以像往常一样施用脱模体系。

采用肯天研制的全套半永久性脱模体系,包括清洁剂、底涂、封孔剂和脱模剂,对新模具或者修理过的模具进行处理,将确保从第一个循环开始,投入生产的模具就有生产出优秀零件的最大可能。肯天公司的封孔剂和半永久性脱模剂使用特别配方,附着在涂有肯天底涂的模具基板上,从而确保模具表面受到适当的保护,能够提供多次脱模效果,从而为您节省时间和金钱。

想要了解使用我们行业领先的产品和服务会给你的企业带来哪些优势,请与我们联系

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

Composite bicycle frame

A System of Products to Protect Valuable Tooling

Chem-Trend has developed a suite of products designed to work in concert with each other to make production molds for the composite industry more efficient and longer lasting. The “Release System” developed by Chem-Trend is applicable for molds made either of composites, or metal.

 

Addressing the Challenges of Molds Made From Composites

A composite mold that has just been constructed and pulled from its plug/master mold should, ideally, be allowed to “season” for several days before being put into production. “Seasoning” allows the polymer matrix to fully cross-link and to allow any residual solvents entrapped within the matrix to evaporate, leaving a mold surface that is as ready as possible to face the rigors of the molding process.

However, seasoning is not always possible due to production demands; therefore molds are often put into production before they are completely ready. A “green” mold (not fully seasoned) is much more vulnerable to both the chemical and mechanical attacks faced as a part of the molding process.

Chem-Trend has developed both mold sealers and mold primers to “assist” the mold (green and seasoned) in fighting off both mechanical and chemical attacks.

High Gloss Molds and Closed Mold “A” sides- Sealing

Molds destined to produce parts with a high gloss must be prepared with a blemish-free high gloss surface finish, since the surface of the mold is always “reflected” in the surface finish of the part produced. A high gloss finish to the mold surface indicates that there is either light, or no, mold surface porosity. A mold sealer should be applied at this stage, followed by the appropriate release agent. The sealer ensures that if there is any porosity at all, it will be closed off, and the release agent will have a perfectly suitable surface on which it can adhere.

Non-cosmetic Molds and Closed Mold “B” sides – Priming/Sealing

Composite Molds destined to produce parts that are going to be post-mold treated – such as those to be painted, for example – are not normally prepared with a blemish-free high gloss finish. Mold “B” sides and “A” sides that are non-cosmetic in closed molding and vacuum bagging are usually in direct contact with the wet resin or the resin in the pre-preg. In these circumstances the mold surface is subject to extremely aggressive chemical, as well as mechanical (abrasion) attack. For these a mold primer should be applied, followed by a mold sealer and finished with the appropriate release agent when molding occurs.

The primer performs as a “heavy-duty” sealer, ensuring that the mold surface is totally isolated from the other components of the release system. The mold sealer and mold release agent are therefore free to perform their roles in the release process. An additional benefit is that the Chem-Trend primer, when fully cured, provides a perfectly reactive surface that promotes adhesion of Chem-Trend semi-permanent sealers and release agents.

Repaired Molds

A mold that has been taken out of production and repaired should first be given a thorough cleaning, and then repaired areas of the mold should be prepared as per a new mold. The whole mold should then be treated with the Chem-Trend release system (mold primer, sealer and release agent) when placed back into service.

General

It is not unusual for parts of a mold to have been “compounded”, where the surface has been abraded and either given the finish that is required, or returned to its original state of finish. In these cases all previous release agents used (or those transferred from the plug/master in the case of a new mold), have been sanded or compounded away to reveal a bare mold surface. In these instances a thorough cleaning with a Chem-Trend mold cleaner, using a wipe-on wipe-off technique, will ensure that the mold surface is perfectly clean and ready to receive the base-coat of the release system, setting up the necessary protection barriers for the mold.

Protecting Molds Made From Metal

Metallic molds, although not susceptible to the same chemical changes that take place within the matrix of a composite tool, nevertheless need protecting from chemical and mechanical attack, especially when new. Not all metallic substrates promote good adhesion of a typical semi-permanent sealer/release agent type of system. For these cases, a specially developed Chem-Trend primer can be employed that’s designed to bond or adhere to almost any known substrate. Once the primer is in place and fully cured, the release system can be applied as usual.

Treating a new, or repaired, metal mold with a full Chem-Trend semi-permanent release system, consisting of cleaner, primer, sealer and release agent, will ensure that the mold goes into production with the best possible chance of producing excellent parts starting with cycle number one. Chem-Trend sealers and semi-permanent release agents are specially formulated to adhere to substrates coated with a Chem-Trend primer, thus ensuring that the mold surface is properly protected and has the ability to provide multiple releases, saving time and money for your operation.

To learn more about the advantages your operation can gain by utilizing our industry leading products, and receiving our industry leading service, contact us.