橡胶/弹性体

橡胶与弹性体的广泛应用范围,肯天橡胶行业脱模剂完美面对挑战

脱模剂一种介于模具与制品之间的功能性物质,常在橡胶、塑料制造工业中, 制造模型产品时, 为了脱模、提高生产效率、延长模具使用寿命, 同时通过脱模剂的使用还能使产品光洁、尺寸合格、减少废品,在脱模剂中橡胶脱模剂是一种用于防止橡胶产品与模具表面粘连,并能使之顺利出模而不致撕裂的一类物质,使用橡胶脱模剂时只要将它喷或涂于模腔表面,就能形成一层有效的隔离层。 选择橡胶脱模剂使用于橡胶成型行业,我们都知道橡胶极具弹性,故被广泛用于交通运输、体育用品、家用电器、机械、办公设备、充气轮胎、鞋类和许多其他物品。而模压成型上述领域制品的生产工艺流程中就采用了各种不同的橡胶化合物。当然在具体操作上使用哪一种橡胶化合物及采用哪一种工艺和应用,什么样的橡胶脱模剂适合呢?这都取决于成品的功能,以及成品的预定工作环境。肯天公司具有几十年与橡胶部件成型商协作的经验,推出的橡胶脱模剂等脱模剂已经为这些工艺和应用所面临的难题开发了许多解决方案。

成型化合物的设计是为了使其富有弹性且经久耐用。橡胶脱模剂面对“橡胶”这种具有弹性的交联(热固性)材料的统称,几乎可模压成任何形状以适应特定的空间封套和/或执行某种机械任务。以化合物为基础的弹性体有五十多“种”,每一种都因其不同的聚合晶格而具有不同的化学特性。某些种类弹性体表现出的“化学侵蚀性”较其他种类似乎更大。

用于生产工艺过程中的橡胶脱模剂,必须能够防止模具表面不受成型化合物的侵蚀,并可让成形化合物很容易从形状复杂的模具中脱模。肯天的专业知识与专有技能可在该领域发挥效力。虽然看起来有些匪夷所思,但被设计成耐极强化学腐蚀性环境的橡胶化合物,往往会产生对模具最具化学侵蚀性的化合物。生产这些化合物的是弹性体,通常被称为专用或特种弹性体。用卤代化合物尤其是氟橡胶制造的模塑产品,由于其固有的粘性,通常非常难于模塑。在制造过程中,氟橡胶通常仅仅用作热燃油中的密封材料,其后便只能弃置不用。化合物中的卤素与金属反应(模具表面)使橡胶附着于金属表面。硫化剂也起了很大一部分作用,由于经常使用过氧化物,因此也常常会对模具的金属表面造成侵蚀。

在这种情况下,橡胶脱模剂使用最主要的任务就是创建一道阻止化学侵蚀的屏障,当然同时也要阻止机械性的侵蚀。无论该产品是传统的或半永久性脱模剂,它必须提供必要的屏障,以防止橡胶化合物侵蚀模具表面。选择脱模剂时必须首先考虑到这一点。

面对橡胶成型行业里使用的橡胶脱模剂,第二个需要考虑的因素是耐磨性。通用弹性体所制化合物被模压成各种成型产品,通常在其整个工作寿命期间都会暴露在空气中——一个化学侵蚀比较小的环境。然而,这些模压产品的工作环境在其他方面要求可能会非常严苛。譬如,天然橡胶的电机底盘需要在其工作寿命期间抵御数千次摇动。由于通用弹性体所制化合物对模具的磨损性较大,因而给模压成型带来更大挑战。在这种情况下,橡胶脱模剂就需要起到对抗主要机械性攻击之屏障作用。

与此同时,选择的橡胶脱模剂除了具有防止模具表面遭受攻击的主要属性外,还必须为模具表面提供表面滑移性能,或润滑性能,以使成型制品能很容易从模具中脱出。脱模剂必须能够润滑模具和成型制品之间的界面,而完成此项功能所需的脱模剂越少越好。润滑意味着脱模剂薄膜具有流动性。然而,在成型过程中,如果在模具表面的脱模剂的转移过大(转移到制品表面),可能会导致潜在的成型缺陷。

在大多数情况下,如果对化学和机械攻击已设有一道有效的屏障,就没有必要施加大量的润滑。不过也有例外存在,具有异常复杂几何形状的模塑,有时候就需要高润滑度,此时必须作出取舍。这是高性能脱模剂开发所面临的重大挑战。但尽管如此,“润滑度越小越好”的规则仍然适用。

可见在橡胶成型行业里寻找适当的橡胶脱模剂就是在三个因素之间寻求平衡:1)评估化合物化学腐蚀性的大小;2)评估其磨损掉脱模剂倾向的大小;3)考虑产品的形状。肯天公司与橡胶模压成型商已经合作了三十年,并开发了适当的产品以应对这些挑战。

各种橡胶成型行业脱模剂挑战:

硅橡胶化合物

硅橡胶化合物需要特殊的脱模剂。通常硅橡胶脱模剂可用于普通橡胶脱模,但反之则不尽然。成型硅橡胶化合物时,应避免使用包含任何类型硅的脱模剂。肯天公司生产硅橡胶成型的全方位脱模剂产品。

您橡胶成型难题的解决方案

肯天公司是为橡胶成型行业开发和制造专业脱模剂及相关产品的行家。我们有专门的产品,可帮助解决在许多不同类型橡胶成型工艺中橡胶化合物成型的难题。我们多年的行业经验,可助您针对工艺和原料来选择合适的产品,提高效率、降低废品率、提高产品质量并延长工具寿命。点击我们的橡胶成型主页,更多了解相关橡胶脱模剂产品,了解我们如何能够帮助您解决橡胶成型领域存在的挑战。您也可直接联系我们,我们的专家将竭诚为您服务。

轮胎制造橡胶成型的特殊挑战

弹性体是一种具有粘弹性特征(通常被称为弹性)的聚合物,该术语本身就源自弹性聚合物一词,而且往往是与“橡胶”一词交替使用,尤其是在指硫化弹性体时。“橡胶”一词被用作制造轮胎的天然和合成弹性体的通用词。当然,用于制造轮胎各组成部分的弹性体是热固性(需要硫化)橡胶。选择此类橡胶是出于对其所具物理特性的考虑,例如耐撕裂/坚实性、能提供抓地力的特别滞后特性等。以上所有要素均会对轮胎制造工艺的不同阶段所需的脱模剂产生影响。

几十年来,肯天公司深入橡胶成型和轮胎制造客户的车间,与他们密切合作,对充气轮胎橡胶成型领域存在的具体难题甚为了解。对于每种类型的工艺我们都设有独立实验室,因为我们知道,这些工艺虽有相似之处,但实际上却大相径庭。橡胶是一个广义的术语,只有对具体的橡胶性能及制造工艺有深入了解的行业专家,才能为橡胶模塑商和轮胎制造商提供最为适合的橡胶脱模剂产品,才能够帮助橡胶模塑商和轮胎制造商提高工艺效率、减少废品并提高成品质量。了解更多有关,如何帮助解决轮胎橡胶/弹性体成型领域存在的挑战问题,了解肯天在橡胶成型业里脱模剂制造,点击我们的轮胎交联/硫化主页,也可直接联系我们,我们将竭诚为您服务。

 

返回顶部 »

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

按应用分类

肯天的产品涉及全球任何脱模剂公司的各个应用领域。您需要我们解决哪些应用问题?

按工艺分类

肯天拥有丰富的车间生产经验,所开发的多款产品涵盖二十多种模塑、成型与铸造操作领域。您从事哪个领域?

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

By Application

Chem-Trend covers the widest range of applications of any release agent company in the world. What application can we help solve your problems in?

Chem-Trend has shop floor experience, and a range of products, that covers over two-dozen different molding, forming and casting operations. Which one are you involved in?

Rubber/elastomer parts

The Wide Range of Applications, and Molding Challenges of Rubber and Elastomers

Transportation, sporting goods, household appliances, machinery, office equipment, pneumatic tires, footwear and many other items take advantage of the flexibility of rubber. A huge variety of different rubber compounds are used in the moldings processes required to make these goods. The selection of which rubber compound to use, which process and application to employ, depends both on the function of the part as well as the environment in which the part is expected to perform. With decades of experience working with molders of rubber components, Chem-Trend has developed solutions to many of the challenges faced in these processes and applications.

Molding compounds are designed to be flexible and durable. “Rubber” is an all-embracing term for a flexible, cross-linked (thermosetting) material that can be molded into almost any shape in order to fit a specific space envelope and/or perform some kind of mechanical task. The elastomer upon which the compound is based can be one of more than fifty “species” that are characterized by the chemistry of their polymeric lattice. Some elastomers exhibit what appears to be a greater degree of “chemical aggressiveness” than others.

The mold release agent used in manufacturing must be capable of protecting the mold surfaces against the compounds that are formed, and easily releasing the part from complex-shaped molds. This is where Chem-Trend’s expertise comes into play. It may seem strange, but rubber compounds that are designed to be resistant to the most chemically aggressive environments, tend to be manufactured from compounds that present the most chemically aggressive molding challenge. These compounds are manufactured with elastomers that are commonly called special purpose, or exotic, elastomers. Moldings made from halogenated compounds, for example – especially fluoroelastomers that typically spend their entire working lives as sealing materials in hot fuel – are usually quite difficult to mold due to their inherent stickiness. The reactivity of the halogen in the compound accounts for its affinity for metal (the mold surface). The cross-linking system also plays a large part, since peroxides are often used and they, too, tend to attack the mold metal surface.

The mold release agent’s key task, in these circumstances, is to create a barrier against primarily chemical, but also mechanical attack. No matter whether the product is a conventional or semi-permanent mold release agent, it must provide the necessary barrier to prevent the rubber compound from attacking the mold surface. The mold release agent must be chosen with this primary aim in mind.

A second issue to consider in choosing a proper mold release agent is abrasion resistance. Compounds made from general-purpose elastomers are molded into products that spend their lives in air – a less chemically demanding environment. However, the environment in which these moldings live is demanding in other ways. A natural rubber motor mount, for instance, needs to resist many thousand deflections during its working life. From a molding standpoint, general-purpose elastomers tend to present a greater challenge due to the abrasiveness of the compounds, in which they are formulated. In these circumstances, the mold release needs to act as a barrier against primarily mechanical, attack.

Beyond the primary attribute of preventing attack on the mold surface, the mold release agent also must provide surface slip, or lubricity, to the mold surface, allowing the molded part to be removed easily from the mold. The mold release must be designed to lubricate the interface between the mold and the molded part, and it is advantageous to use the least amount of lubrication necessary to perform this function. Lubrication means that there is mobility within the release agent film. However, excessive movement of the release agent around the mold during the molding process can lead to potentially defective moldings.

If an efficient barrier is provided against chemical and mechanical attack, there is no need to build-in a great amount of lubricity in the majority of cases. However, there are exceptions and these usually apply to moldings that have very complicated shape or geometry. Sometimes, a high amount of slip is needed and a necessary trade-off must be made. This is a significant challenge in developing high performance release agents. But, the rule still applies – the least slip possible, the better.

Finding the proper mold release is a balance between three factors: 1) assessing how chemically aggressive a compound might be; 2) assessing its tendency to abrade away the release film; and, 3) taking into account the product shape. Chem-Trend has, during three decades working with rubber molders, developed the proper products to meet these challenges.

Silicone Rubber Compounds

Silicone rubber compounds need special mold releases. It is normally possible to mold a carbon-based rubber with a mold release designed for silicone rubber, however, the opposite does not hold true. Mold release agents containing any type of silicone should be avoided when molding silicone-based rubber compounds. Chem-Trend makes a comprehensive range of products for silicone rubber molding.

Solutions to Your Rubber Molding Challenges

Chem-Trend is an expert in developing and manufacturing specialized release agents and related products for the rubber molding industry. We have specific products to help address the challenges of molding rubber compounds across many different types of rubber molding processes. Our many years of experience in this industry can help you to select the right products for your process and raw materials, increasing efficiency, lowering scrap rates, improving product quality and extending tool life. To learn more about how we can help you face the challenges of rubber molding, visit our main Rubber Molding page or contact us directly and talk with one of our experts.

Special Challenges of Molding Rubber for Tire Manufacturing

An elastomer is a polymer with visco-elastic properties (usually referred to as elasticity), this term is derived from elastic polymer, and is often used interchangeably with the word "rubber", especially when referring to vulcanized elastomers. The word "rubber" is used as a generic term for the natural and synthetic elastomers used to manufacture tires. Of course, the types of elastomers used to produce various components within a given tire are thermosets (requiring vulcanization) and have been specifically selected for the physical properties they provide, e.g. resistance to tearing/chunking, specific hysteresis characteristics to provide grip etc. All of these factors have an effect on the specific release agent required for different parts of the tire manufacturing process.

Chem-Trend has been able to learn and understand the specific challenges of molding rubber into pneumatic tires through its decades of involvement on the shop floors of both its rubber molding and tire manufacturing customers. We have separate laboratories for each type of process because we understand that, although they share some similarities, they are in fact, very different processes. Rubber is a broad term, and it takes expert and in-depth knowledge of specific rubber properties and manufacturing processes to help both rubber molders and tire manufacturers improve their process efficiency, reduce scrap rates and produce high quality parts. To learn more about how Chem-Trend can help you face the challenges of molding rubber elastomer into tires, visit our main Tire Curing/Vulcanization page or contact us directly.