橡胶注射成型使用的脱模剂

注射成型是目前非轮胎橡胶工业领域应用最广泛的一种成型方法。将未碾碎的原料橡胶放入喷射挤出一体机,而后经泵的抽吸,橡胶通过一个相对狭小的注射口(模具衬套)进入模腔进料(流道)系统。该穿过注射口的过程中,橡胶温度会上升好几次,其物理性状将发生变化。

橡胶被注入模腔后会达到一个相对较高的温度(约140º C / 285 º F),这样橡胶的硫化时间与其他成型方法相比就会大大缩短。然而,该加工工艺对脱模剂带来了巨大挑战。作为世界领先的脱模剂生产厂商,肯天理解这些挑战,并开发出了相应产品进行了有效应对。

为了能高效生产高质量的产品,橡胶注射模具的各个部件都需要使用合适的脱模剂。大多数的部件只适合使用半永久性脱模剂。最佳的脱模剂涂抹时间是将模具拆卸下来并进行清洗过后,用脱模剂底涂涂抹模具各个部件,这样效率最高。更多信息,请登录公司网站橡胶注射模具的清洁和保护页面。

在使用清洁的模具时,为了使其保持高工作效率,需要考虑到多重因素,可以具体到模具的各个相关部件。这也进一步阐释了脱模剂技术的复杂性及其在橡胶工业内的重要影响。

模具入口

  • 要确保橡胶能顺畅地流经模腔入口、流道系统以及流道板喷射孔,需要使用脱模剂来消除这些部件的干涩性。
  • 这里所需的脱模剂要能形成结实膜层且不容易被橡胶流体损坏。最合适的 半永久性脱模剂既需要能在注射过程中促进橡胶的顺畅流动,又能帮助方便清除硫化流道系统内的橡胶余垢。硫化流道系统需要保持完好,否则清除注射口残留的橡胶污点将会非常耗时。
  • 脱模剂必须能连续多次使用,而且耐磨损,这样才不需要进行频繁修复。某些模具的流道系统和注射口很难进入,若脱模剂不能持续完好地发挥作用,那模具的周转时间将会很长。
  • 不允许有任何脱模剂污染通过流道系统进入模腔。脱模时若需要使用高润滑性脱模剂来提高脱模便捷性,在使用时一定要避免将同种脱模剂用于流道系统,因为该种脱模剂有可能通过流道系统进入模腔并同橡胶材料混合,从而造成熔合或接合失败。
    Knit line defect in rubber product

模具内部

  • 模腔之所需要脱模剂,主要有如下两个原因:
    • 帮助成品部件顺利脱模
    • 防止模具表面结垢
  • 如果涉及到橡胶和金属的连接,模具表面的保护就显得尤为重要了。橡胶和金属的粘结剂不管接触到什么物质都会发挥其粘性,因此就可能粘附于模具表面,从而导致模具结垢。如果金属件上有过量的粘结剂,多余的部分就会大量粘附到模具上。若涂好粘结剂的金属件接触或接近高温模具表面的时间长于所需时间,粘结剂可能会升华,并在无防护的模具表面留下垢污。要防止这种情况出现,脱模剂必须能形成一层结实的保护膜,从而延长模具在使用半永久性脱模剂时的运行时间。
  • 所有材料在成品脱模后都有可能在模具表面留下余垢,随着余垢的累积,脱模便捷性就会降低。在橡胶材料开始粘附模具表面之前必须阻止余垢的累积,因为余垢会阻碍脱模剂粘附于模具表面,从而无法形成有效的脱模膜层,最终导致产品质量降低,报废率升高。

肯天为橡胶成型工业提供专用脱模剂,其产品能有效应对如上所述橡胶注射成型工艺所遇到的挑战。我们拥有多年的行业经验,能助您选择合适的产品,提高效率,同时降低报废率,进而改进产品质量并延长模具使用寿命。更多信息,请登录公司网站橡胶成型页面

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

按应用分类

肯天的产品涉及全球任何脱模剂公司的各个应用领域。您需要我们解决哪些应用问题?

按材料分类

肯天在脱模剂及其他加工助剂制造行业拥有50多年经验,了解各种各样的生产材料。您正在使用哪类材料?

Release Agents for Rubber Injection Molding

Injection molding is now the most prevalent molding method in the non-tire rubber industry. A pre-masticated rubber compound is placed in the injection machine’s integral extruder before being pumped through a relatively small orifice (mold bush) into the cavity feed (runner) system of the mold. The compound enters the mold cavity through a “gate” and during the process the rubber compound undergoes several elevations in temperature, thus changing its physical characteristics.

By the time the rubber compound is injected into the mold cavity, it will have reached a relatively high temperature (approximately 140º C / 285 º F), resulting in a curing time that’s drastically reduced from that of other processes. However, the process brings with it some quite difficult challenges for the mold release agent. Chem-Trend, a world leader in the development and manufacture of high performance release agents understands these challenges and has products to address them.

To produce high quality parts in an efficient manner, the individual components of the rubber injection molds need treating with a purpose applicable mold release agent. For most of the parts, only a semi-permanent release agent will be suitable. An injection mold can be treated extremely effectively with a base coat of release agent when it is has been removed and cleaned and remains in its disassembled state. Read more about cleaning and protecting rubber injection molds.

When utilizing a clean mold, there are multiple considerations to be made to support the production of clean parts in an efficient manner. These considerations can be broken down to the relevant sections of the mold, and help to illustrate the complexity, and influence, of mold release agent technology for the rubber industry.

Mold Entrance

  • To ensure that rubber flows easily to the mold cavity gates, the runner system and injection holes in the runner plate will need treating with a release agent to overcome their dryness.
  • A release agent that forms a very tough film and is hard to disturb by flowing rubber compound is required. Typically, a semi-permanent release agent that will promote the easy flow of rubber during injection, and allow the cured runner system rubber to be removed easily between cycles, is best. The cured runner system needs to remain intact – otherwise picking individual rubber pips from injection holes can be time-consuming.
  • The release agent must remain in place for many cycles and wear out slowly so that the touch-up interval is infrequent. Runner systems and injection holes can be hard to access in some molds, making mold turn-around times excessively long if the release agent does not work flawlessly time after time.
  • There should be no contaminating transfer of the release agent through the runner system into the mold cavity. If it is necessary to use a highly lubricious mold release in order to de-mold the parts, it is ill-advised to use the same product on the runner system. Highly lubricious mold release agents can transfer into the mold cavity and become mixed with the rubber compound, causing knit-lines and even bond-line failure.
    Knit line defect in rubber product

Inside the Mold

  • The mold cavity needs a release agent for two main reasons:
    • Allow the parts to be de-molded easily
    • Protect the mold surface from build-up or mold fouling
  • Protection of the mold surface is especially important if the process involves rubber-to-metal bonding. Rubber-to-metal adhesives can contribute to mold fouling, since they do their job indiscriminately. If there is excessive adhesive on the metal parts, it will do its best to adhere to the metal mold. Also, if adhesive-coated metals are left in contact with, or in close proximity to, the hot mold surface for a longer period of time than necessary, the adhesive may sublime and form deposits on unprotected mold surfaces. The release agent used must provide an excellent barrier or protective film in these circumstances, enabling the mold to run for extended periods of time when using a semi-permanent release agent.
  • All molding compounds will tend to leave deposits behind on a mold after each de-molding. As these deposits build up, release-ease diminishes. If deposits are allowed to build up until rubber sticks to the mold surface, it is too late. The adhered rubber will prevent the release agent from bonding to the tool surface and a useful releasing surface will not be formed, resulting in poor quality parts and increased scrap rates.

Chem-Trend is an expert in developing and manufacturing specialized release agents and related products for the rubber molding industry. We have specific products to help address all of the challenges of molding rubber through the rubber injection molding processes listed above. Our many years of experience in this industry can help you in selecting the right products to utilize with your process, increasing your efficiency, lowering your scrap rates, improving your product quality and extending your tool life. Learn more about our experience, products and how we can help you face the challenges of rubber molding.

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

By Application

Chem-Trend covers the widest range of applications of any release agent company in the world. What application can we help solve your problems in?

By Material

Chem-Trend has over 5 decades of experience making release agents and other processing aids to work with a wide range of materials. What type of material are you working with?