开发产品以应对树脂传递模塑(RTM)的挑战

树脂传递模塑(RTM)是一种封闭模塑工艺,颇具挑战。树脂传递模塑成型时,先把干性增强纤维层铺设于模具中,将上下半模腔合拢密封。然后将树脂转移或注入到闭合模具中,填满包覆膜中所有孔隙,并且化学粘附在胶衣(通常情况下仅应用于模具的“A”面)表面。肯天在复合模塑业拥有多年经验,其产品开发能够解决用树脂传递模塑成型法制造脱膜制品的挑战。

RTM技术日益盛行的原因是多方面的。首先,RTM技术可以确保尺寸控制精准到位,并将溶剂排放限制在最低水平。由于该工艺涉及 “双面”模具,脱模系统需要执行两项独立功能。 模具“显示面”(装饰面)往往要求“A”级光洁度——因此被称作“A”面。模具背面通常无需“A”级光洁度,积层往往会紧密收缩包覆在模具表面,这意味着脱模系统首先必须具有良好脱模性能。模具的这个面通常被称为“B”面。

肯天的Chemlease®产品

肯天的Chemlease®产品专为承受RTM苛刻工艺而设计。为确保模具得到充分保护以提供多次脱模,肯天研制出由清洁剂、底涂、封孔剂和面层脱模剂组成的脱模系统。在无需使用胶衣的应用领域,树脂传递/注射的“清洗操作”不会干扰Chemlease®脱模系统。在某些情况下,该系统还可通过Chemlease®内脱模剂得以增强。

Chemlease®系统组件包括:

  • 清洁剂 - 树脂传递模塑成型时,在塑模前必须确保模具两侧清洁。任何缺陷,特别是A端的缺陷,都很有可能产生废品。如有必要,应用专用清洁磨料清理模具,以去除树脂残留或脱模剂残留,然后应用Chemlease®清洁剂去除模具表面上的所有其他污染物。
  • 底涂 - 底涂有助于封孔剂和面层脱模剂在脱模工艺中充分发挥作用。底涂为模具提供终极保护,将模具“碾损”、结垢、“表面沾污”降到最低。这对于模具B面尤为重要,模具B面通常未设置胶衣,因此在开模工艺中磨损严重。
  • 封孔剂 - 功能相当于树脂传递模塑(RTM)应用中底漆与面漆之间的连接层。
  • 面层脱模剂 - Chemlease®半永久性面层脱模剂在应用技术和脱模性能方面为模具提供一定的灵活度,肯天有多种半永久性面层脱模剂可供选择。
    • 高滑度或低滑度面层脱模剂,视成型制品形状而定
    • 即涂即擦型应用方法
    • 即涂免擦型应用方法
    • 喷涂免擦型应用方法

Fish eye paint defect in composite part一旦模具经清洗、涂底涂及封孔完毕,即可根据某一特定需求选择面层脱模剂。正确的准备工序可确保模具在两次涂刷面层脱模剂之间实现最大脱模数,并可最大限度地减少模具表面结垢。此类面层脱模剂可允许在工艺中使用各类胶衣,而无需担心“鱼眼”的形成。如果能对模具面层脱模剂进行及时重涂,则对表面光洁度有一定要求的制品能更好的反映经处理模具的表面效果并实现多次脱模,且鲜有或是避免模具积垢。

远远不仅限于脱模系统

您一旦购买复合材料成型用肯天Chemlease®产品,您不仅得到了我们的产品,更可享受到我们由行业专业人士组成的全球支持网络工业专家提供的服务。他们致力于为消费者提供最合适的产品。我们在复合材料生产方面拥有长期行业背景和丰富生产经验,能够优化模具脱模应用与清洗过程,提高客户竞争力。我们的销售与技术服务专家通过肯天全球网络为当地客户及其经销商提供优质服务。我们也通过遍布全球的技术服务和开发实验室为客户提供支持。我们承诺向客户提供更大价值、更佳性能和更高可靠性。

如欲详细了解我们如何利用丰富的专门知识和优质的专业产品助您提高效率,降低复合材料成型运营成本,请直接联系我们

联系我们

想了解肯天如何为您提供帮助?请联系我们,给我们一个机会帮助您提高模塑、铸造与成型操作的生产效率。

按应用分类

肯天的产品涉及全球任何脱模剂公司的各个应用领域。您需要我们解决哪些应用问题?

按材料分类

肯天在脱模剂及其他加工助剂制造行业拥有50多年经验,了解各种各样的生产材料。您正在使用哪类材料?

Finishing of RTM part

Resin Transfer Molding (RTM): Release Agents & Molding Aids

Resin Transfer Molding (RTM) is a closed-mold process that holds many challenges. Dry reinforcement textiles are set in place before bringing two matching halves of a mold together and latching them shut. A resin is then transferred, or injected, to fill all of the voids in the laminate, as well as to chemically adhere to the inside surface of the gel-coat, which is normally applied to the “A” side of the mold only. Chem-Trend’s many years of experience working with composite molders has allowed for the development of products to address the challenges of releasing parts made through RTM.

The RTM technique is gaining popularity for several reasons. Extremely accurate dimension control can be guaranteed, as well as ensuring that solvent emissions are kept to a minimum. Since the process involves “two-sided” molds, the release system needs to perform two separate functions. The “displayed” (cosmetic) side of the molding is often required to be a class “A” finish – thus the “A” side designation. The back side of the mold most often does not need to be a class “A” finish and the laminate will shrink tightly onto its surface, meaning that the release system will need to provide excellent release ease as its prime attribute. This side of the mold is often referred to as the “B” side.

Chem-Trend’s Chemlease® Products

Chem-Trend’s Chemlease® products have been specially formulated to withstand the rigors of the RTM process. Release systems consisting of cleaners, primers, sealers and top-coats have been developed to ensure that the mold is fully protected to provide multiple releases. The Chemlease® release system will not be disturbed by the ‘washing action” of the transferred/injected resin in applications where no gel-coat is used. In some cases, the system can also be augmented with a Chemlease® internal release agent.

Chemlease® system components include:

  • Cleaner – In a resin transfer molding application it is absolutely essential that both sides of the mold be clean before attempting to mold. Any imperfections, especially on the A-side, will most likely result in a scrapped part. If necessary, the mold should be treated with cleaning abrasives designed specifically for the application to remove resin residues or previously-used release agents. A Chemlease® cleaner should then be used to remove all remaining contaminants on the mold surface.
  • Primer – This part of this system allows the sealer and top-coat to perform their roles flawlessly in the release process. The primer provides the ultimate mold protection from the “ground up” to keep build-up or “scumming” to an absolute minimum. This is particularly important for the mold B-side, which is most often not laid up with a gel-coat and is therefore subjected to very high levels of abrasion during the mold opening process.
  • Sealer – This component performs the role of a “tie-layer” between primer and top-coat in RTM applications.
  • Top-coat – Chemlease® semi-permanent top-coats can be selected from a range of options designed to provide the molder some degree of flexibility in both application technique and release characteristics.
    • High or low slip depending upon the shape of the molded part
    • Wipe-on, wipe-off application method
    • Wipe-on, leave-on application method
    • Spray-on, leave-on application method

Click here to watch the Chemlease® video on our RTM system of products.

Fish eye paint defect in composite partOnce the mold has been cleaned, primed and sealed, the choice of top-coat can be made to address a particular need. Correct preparation ensures that the mold will give the maximum number of releases between re-applications of the top-coat, while ensuring that build-up on the mold surface is minimized. These top-coats allow any applicable gel-coat to be applied without fear of fish-eyes occurring. Parts that require a cosmetic finish will reflect the appearance of the treated mold for an extended number of de-moldings, with little or no build-up, if timely re-application of the top-coat is applied.

A Lot More than Release Systems

When you purchase Chem-Trend’s Chemlease® products for composites molding you get a lot more than just products. You gain access to a worldwide support network of industry professionals committed to developing the right solutions for your application. Our long history in the industry, combined with our many years of experience on composite shop production floors, means that we can help you optimize your mold release application and cleaning processes to improve your bottom line. Our sales and technical service experts are available locally to support our customers, and their distributors, through a global network of offices. We also support our customers through our technical service and development laboratories located around the globe. It’s all part of our commitment to providing our customers with greater value, performance and dependability.

Learn more about how you can leverage our expertise and products to increase your efficiency and lower the costs of your composite molding operations, or contact us directly.

Want to find out what Chem-Trend can do to help you? Contact us and give us a chance to improve your molding, casting and forming operations.

By Application

Chem-Trend covers the widest range of applications of any release agent company in the world. What application can we help solve your problems in?

By Material

Chem-Trend has over 5 decades of experience making release agents and other processing aids to work with a wide range of materials. What type of material are you working with?